

# Award Winners at the 46th annual Scottish Press Awards

#### Young Journalist of the Year - Sponsored by Muckle Media

- Winner: Sian Maher The Scottish Sun
- Runner Up: Andrew Robson The Courier

#### Arts and Entertainment Journalist of the Year

- Winner: Kenny Farquharson The Jaggy Thistle
- Runner Up: Neil MacKay The Herald and Herald on Sunday

#### Interviewer of the Year

- Winner: Dani Garavelli The Herald
- Runner Up: Jonathan Brocklebank Scottish Daily Mail

## Food and Drink Writer of the Year – Sponsored by Diageo

- Winner: Chitra Ramaswamy The Times Scotland
- Runner Up: Ailsa Sheldon The Herald

#### Financial/ Business Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland

- Winner: Greig Cameron The Times and Sunday Times Scotland
- Runner Up: Keith Findlay The Press and Journal

#### Political Journalist of the Year - Sponsored by The Law Society of Scotland

- Winner: Kieran Andrews The Times Scotland
- Runner Up: Chris Musson The Scottish Sun

#### **Sports Columnist of the Year**

- Winner: Michael Grant The Times Scotland
- Runner Up: Susan Egelstaff The Herald

#### **Sports Journalist of the Year**

- Winner: Sean Wallace The Press and Journal
- Runner Up: Rob Robertson The Herald

#### Columnist of the Year – Sponsored by Edrington

- Winner: Dani Garavelli The Herald
- Runner Up: Kenny Farquharson The Times Scotland

#### **Specialist Reporter of the Year**

- Winner: Bryan Rutherford The Press and Journal
- Runner Up: Helen McArdle The Herald

### Feature Writer of the Year – Sponsored by The Glenmorangie Company

- Winner: Kevin McKenna The Herald
- Runner Up: Marc Horne The Times and Sunday Times Scotland

## **Sports Photographer of the Year**

- Winner: Andrew Milligan PA Media
- Runner Up: Ian MacNicol Getty Images

### News Photographer of the Year – Sponsored by Visit Scotland

- Winner: Jeff Mitchell Getty Images
- Runner Up: Jane Barlow PA Media

## **Best Coverage of a Live Event**

- Winner: The Scottish Sun The death of Alex Salmond
- Runner Up: The Courier Aberfeldy Shooting

#### Podcast of the Year

- Winner: The Ferret A Place to Heal
- Runner Up: Rachael Revesz Coatbridge, The Disappearance of Moira Anderson

#### Weekly Journalist of the Year

- Winner: Lewis McBlane The Northern Scot
- Runner Up: Luke Jarmyn Stranraer & Wigtownshire Free Press

# Regional Journalist of the Year

- Winner: Bryan Rutherford The Press and Journal
- Runner Up: Dale Haslam The Press and Journal

#### Nicola Barry Award - Sponsored by Women in Journalism Scotland

- Winner: Catriona Stewart Freelance
- Runner Up: Lindsay Bruce The Press and Journal

#### **Lifetime Achievement Award**

• Winner: Melanie Reid – The Times Scotland

## Weekly Newsbrand of the Year - Sponsored by Caledonian MacBrayne

Winner: East Lothian CourierRunner Up: Cumnock Chronicle

#### Scoop of the Year - Sponsored by the Journalists' Charity

• Winner: Graham Mann – The Scottish Sun

• Runner Up: Kieran Andrews – The Times Scotland

## Front Page of the Year

Winner: The Press and JournalRunner Up: The Scotsman

#### Journalism Team of the Year - Sponsored by Amazon

• Winner: The Scottish Sun – The death of Alex Salmond

• Runner Up: The Courier – Aberfeldy shooting

## **Campaign of the Year**

• Winner: The Sunday Post – 'Saving Mothers and Babies'

• Runner Up: The Press and Journal – 'Community Fund'

## Reporter of the Year – Sponsored by Openreach

• Winner: Martin Williams – The Herald

• Runner Up: Caroline Wilson – The Herald and Herald on Sunday

# Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Media House

• Winner: Bryan Rutherford – The Press and Journal

#### **Scottish Newsbrand of the Year**

• Winner: The Scottish Sun

#### **Photographs:**

Photographs by Jeff Holmes can be accessed at <a href="www.jshpix.co">www.jshpix.co</a>. Users should click on client access and use password <a href="www.awards25">awards25</a> to access pictures. Once downloaded, the watermark will disappear.